top of page
  • Writer's picturetheblueprintevents

The Day I Stopped Doubting Myself

Hello,


I'm Demetria Brown, the Owner/Creative Director for The Blueprint Events Co. I am also one of three radio hosts for #BuildABossRadio with Scene Chicago powered by Urban Broadcast Media. In my life I have accomplished so much but for years I doubted myself and my capabilities. Always unsure if I was making the best decisions or if I was moving forward on the right path, I did not know what to do at times. I felt myself just being and not really living for me!


Earlier this year, I married the love of my life Anthony. Although I was so happy in my personal life, my professional life felt as if it was in shambles. I showed up to my 9-5 everyday, took care of my clients and was very successful in my works efforts but I was unhappy deep down. I have been in management for over 15 years and I realized I loved putting together events for work as well as for my family/friends. I love event planning and always knew I wanted to do that long term but never put in the work to make it a reality. I felt like I was just going with the motions in my daily life. I had applied to over 150 jobs because I felt overwhelmed at work and I became so frustrated with the fact that I had not been called for an interview that I was just about give up. I could not understand why I was not getting any callbacks with all of the experience I had. With a fist full of tears I cried to my husband explaining that I felt stuck and couldn't understand why things weren't moving for me in the way I pictured for myself. Anthony quickly let me know that things probably weren't working for me because I needed to follow my dreams instead of continuing to work for others and making their dreams come true.


That moment changed my life forever. I felt alive again! My husband helped to light a fire in me that needed to surface. It was that day that I decided I would not let my dreams be on hold any longer and that I needed to put in the work to make my event planning business an actual entity. That weekend after this life-changing discussion, I launched my business. At that time, I didn't have it all together, but I knew I had to give birth to the idea that had been in my head for over a year. I knew it was time to follow my dreams. When my husband spoke to me, it was as if it all clicked!


Along the way, I have had people doubt me and my abilities as an event planner and business owner. There was once a time in my life where I would have let those doubts seep into my life and spirit. I would have hid at the thoughts that maybe I would fail. Now I feel unstoppable. I have been able to accomplish so much in such a short time and it has been nothing but a blessing. When I decided to go for it and stop doubting myself, my life changed tremendously. I now have a thriving event planning business and I host #BuildABossRadio with two of my favorite ladies Minovet Krissy (founder of The #BuildABossMovement) and Rochelle Wise (founder of RWISE Empowerment Group)! We help other small businesses and business owners become BOSSES just like us!


With my skills and experience, I am more confident than ever that I can tackle anything that comes my way!

Doubt doesn't live here anymore and I couldn't be more thrilled!


46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

#BuildABossRadio First Episode

We had so much fun on our first show. My two lovely host Minovet Krissy and Rochelle Wise are absolutely amazing. We work together to help other small businesses and professionals gain exposure and ha

bottom of page